dinnerexperiment

Chicken and Dumplings November 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — dinnerexperiment @ 4:36 am

So this just screams comfort food for me…. and with all the cold weather these days, really felt the need. I am just fortunate that my mother was and is a fabulous cook (although admittedly I did not realize this until much later in life). This is truly one of my favorite meals she made, it’s just good mood food, bringing back so many great memories from childhood. I am not sure I have done her recipe any justice (although I really liked it and would make again), there is just something about coming home to the smell of it cooking on the stove and the beauty of it prepared by loving hands that were not my own, that will always make her version much better than mine (insert sappy melancholic music here).

This said, this was great, super easy, and one recipe I wanted to figure out how to cook on my own for my own family. Smell in the kitchen on a cold fall day was awesome. Kids ate it and liked it, I loved it, and Lance, well, he liked it, not loved it…….why oh why?? Seems his food baggage may have just prevented him from enjoying this the way I did (he doesn’t quite share the same fond food memories of childhood that I do… his childhood version contained various weird vegetables, spices such as curry, need I go on?). So I will wear him down and create some new memories, making this one again and again, just for nostalgia’s sake….

20111119-203843.jpg

 

2 Responses to “Chicken and Dumplings”

  1. ddahld Says:

    So I think you just coined a new foodie phrase…”food baggage”! Can honestly say I’ve never heard that but really it makes perfect sense. Luckily I don’t have any “food baggage” when it comes to chicken and dumplings. This looks yummy and perfect for these cold winter days.


Leave a Reply

